• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Q&A MTA or combo course for new mom?

Roselyne Farzana Ali

Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
ICD-10-CM BLITZ
Hi,

I am new to online courses and just wanted to get the opinion of other enrolled or current students as how they feel about taking the MTA-PBC combo course rather than taking MTA first and then go on to PCB? such as workloads etc. I am a little nervous since Im a new stay at home mom and have some down time which I want to make myself useful by taking some course, Tho for someone like me, would u recommend taking MTA first, and would that affect negatively towards the latter course? Im worried I may feel overwhelmed if I end up taking the combo. I do not have any background with Medical terminology nor Anatomy just few basics from working in ER. Should I start with MTA first and get the feel of it and workloads etc..However, I do know that Laureen does recommends to take combo.

I would appreciate your feedbacks.

Thank you
Roselyn

Paul A

Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student
FBC Student (CPC-H®)
CCO Practicoder
HCC Student
ICD-10-CM BLITZ
PPM Physicians Practice Management
I signed up for a combo MTA but with Medical Coding. I watched a lot of the MTA videos but i never really had time to concentrate on it since i was in a rush to earn my CPC. The one thing to remember is you have a year to complete it and can pay a small monthly fee to continue past the 1 year. So its not the end of the world if you find you don't have enough time for both

I know for the CPC course its extremely helpful to at a minimum watch the MTA video that correlated with the chapter I was on. I still need to go back and complete MTA so i can get the CEU and add to my knowledge as it will make me a better coder in the long run.